Regional Rural Banks in India are an integral part of the rural credit structure of the country. Since the very beginning, when the Regional Rural Banks in India (RRBs) were established in October 2, 1975, these banks played a pivotal role in the economic development of the rural India. The main goal of establishing regional rural banks in India was to provide credit to the rural people who are not economically strong enough, especially the small and marginal farmers, artisans, agricultural labours, and even small entrepreneurs.

The Conception and the Brief history

The history of regional rural banks in India dates back to the year 1975. It’s the Narsimham committee that conceptualized the foundation of regional rural banks in India. The committee felt the need of ‘regionally oriented rural banks’ that would address the problems and requirements of the rural people with local feel, yet with the same level of professionalism of commercial banks. Five regional rural banks were set up on October 2 with a total authorized capital of ` 1 crore, which later augmented to ` 5 crore. There were five commercial banks, viz. Punjab National Bank, State Bank of India, Syndicate Bank, United Bank of India and United Commercial Bank, which sponsored the regional rural banks. The equities of rural banks were divided in a proportion of 50:35:15 among the Central Government, the Sponsor bank and the concerned State Government.

List of Regional Rural Banks in India

There are a number of regional rural banks in India. Following are the state-wise list of Indian regional rural banks.

Andhra Pradesh

Andhra Pradesh Grameena Vikas Bank
Andhra Pragathi Grameena Bank
Deccan Grameena Bank
Chaitanya Godavari Grameena Bank
Saptagiri Grameena Bank

Arunachal Pradesh

Arunachal Pradesh Rural Bank


Assam Gramin Vikash Bank
Langpi Dehangi Rural Bank


Madhya Bihar Gramin Bank
Bihar Kshetriya Gramin Bank
Uttar Bihar Kshetriya Gramin Bank
Kosi Kshetriya Gramin Bank
Samastipur Kshetriya Gramin Bank


Chhattisgarh Gramin Bank
Surguja Kshetriya Gramin Bank
Durg-Rajnandgaon Gramin Bank


Dena Gujarat Gramin Bank
Baroda Gujarat Gramin Bank
Saurashtra Gramin Bank


Harayana Gramin Bank
Gurgaon Gramin Bank

Himachal Pradesh

Himachal Gramin Bank
Parvatiya Gramin Bank

Jammu & Kashmir

Jammu Rural Bank
Ellaquai Dehati Bank
Kamraz Rural Bank


Jharkhand Gramin Bank
Vananchal Gramin Bank


Karnataka Vikas Grameena Bank
Pragathi Gramin Bank
Cauvery Kalpatharu Grameena Bank
Krishna Grameena Bank
Chimagalur-Kodagu Grameena Bank
Visveshvaraya Gramin Bank


Narmada Malwa Gramin Bank
North Malabar Gramin Bank

Madhya Pradesh

Narmada Malwa Gramin Bank
Satpura Kshetriya Gramin Bank
Madhya Bharath Gramin Bank
Chambal-Gwalior Kshetriya Gramin Bank
Rewa-Sidhi Gramin Bank
Sharda Gramin Bank
Ratlam-Mandsaur Kshetriya Gramin Bank
Vidisha Bhopal Kshetriya Gramin Bank
Mahakaushal Kshetriya Gramin Bank
Jhabua Dhar Kshetriya Gramin Bank


Marathwada Gramin Bank
Aurangabad-Jalna Gramin Bank
Wainganga Kshetriya Gramin Bank
Vidharbha Kshetriya Gramin Bank
Solapur Gramin Bank
Thane Gramin Bank
Ratnagiri-Sindhudurg Gramin Bank


Manipur Rural Bank


Ka Bank Nogkyndong Ri Khasi-Jaintia


Mizoram Rural Bank


Nagaland Rural Bank


Kalinga Gramya Bank
Utkal Gramya Bank
Baitarani Gramya Bank
Neelachal Gramya Bank
Rushikulya Gramya Bank


Punjab Gramin Bank
Faridkot-Bhatinda Kshetriya Gramin Bank
Malwa Gramin Bank


Baroda Rajasthan Gramin Bank
Marwar Ganganagar Bikaner Gramin Bank
Rajasthan Gramin Bank
Jaipur Thar Gramin Bank
Hodoti Kshetriya Gramin Bank
Mewar Anchalik Gramin Bank

Tamil Nadu

Pandyan Grama Bank
Pallavan Grama Bank


Tripura Gramin Bank

Uttar Pradesh

Purvanchal Gramin Bank
Kashi Gomti Samyut Gramin Bank
Uttar Pradesh Gramin Bank
Shreyas Gramin Bank
Lucknow Kshetriya Gramin Bank
Ballia Kshetriya Gramin Bank
Triveni Kshetriya Gramin Bank
Aryavart Gramin Bank
Kisan Gramin Bank
Kshetriya Kisan Gramin Bank
Etawah Kshetriya Gramin Bank
Rani Laxmi Bai Kshetriya Gramin Bank
Baroda Western Uttar Pradesh Gramin Bank
Devipatan Kshetriya Gramin Bank
Prathama Bank
Baroda Eastern Uttar Pradesh Gramin Bank


Uttaranchal Gramin Bank
Nainital Almora Kshetriya Gramin Bank

West Bengal

Bangiya Gramin Vikash Bank
Paschim Banga Gramin Bank
Uttar Banga Kshetriya Gramin Bank